- This event has passed.
December 14, 2017
Whitefish Mountain Resort will kick off its 70th Anniversary Season by commemorating the first opening day (December 14, 1947) and recognize the founders: Ed Schenck and George Prentice along with the “Father of Skiing” in Whitefish Lloyd “Mully” Muldown.
On December 14, 1947 “The Big Mountain” ski area officially opened with a T-Bar, a few runs and a Lodge. More than 350 signed a visitors register and coffee and donuts were served.
We’re celebrating our unique ski heritage by inviting the founders’ families and friends, along with the public, to a ceremony at the Lift Plaza at 10 am. Donuts will be served.
Dates are subject to change.